103FM Hall of Fame and Music Awards 2006

LEFT: Anil Bissembhar, Nisha Bissembhar, Ravi Bissembhar, Omadath Maharaj, and Imran Beharry
LEFT: Anil Bissembhar, Nisha Bissembhar, Ravi Bissembhar,
Omadath Maharaj, and Imran Beharry Reporters
Event Date: September 17, 2006
Posted: September 21, 2006

The race for the most awards seemed to be between popular local Chutney and Bhangra singer, 103FM radio personality Anil Bheem and the well loved Chutney crossover artiste, Rikki Jai, both of whom received three awards each at the 103FM Hall of Fame and Music Awards 2006. This year the crowd participation was very commendable and the award categories were numerous ranging from the Best Male and Female Artiste categories to the Most Popular Song and the People's Choice Awards. Awards were presented for music produced during the October 2004 to September 2005 period and judged via popular survey calculations. Artistes and producers were acknowledged for their ingenuity in adapting traditional Indian music to local and modern sounds and creating new stylistic sounds which have grown within recent times to be cherished all over the world.

Internationally renowned sitarist Mungal Patasar began the twin ceremony with a piece on the sitar instrument - one of the more popular surviving instruments coming out of India - and was accompanied by a classical guitarist and tablaist on the tabla drums.

After Mr. Patasar's soothing performance, Chairman of the 103FM Board of Directors, Mr. Reyaz Ahamad provided welcoming remarks. He began his brief address by recognizing the importance of carrying on the Indian cultural tradition and by officially recognizing the pioneers of the Indian custom. He thanked the financial and technical contributors of such events in successfully maintaining Indian culture and promised that 103FM plans to continue the recognition of those who have helped in the proliferation of Indian culture in Trinidad and Tobago.

The much anticipated induction of the Hall of Fame inductees was next on the agenda and these were presented by Tashir Boodoo and Vicky Boodram. They are as follows:

103FM Hall of Fame 2006

Classical Singing: Jameer Hosien

Folk Expressions: Raas Mandal, 1st Felicity (Ramleela)

Dance: Raymonnd Cameo (posthoumous)

Tassa: Soogrim Raam Tassa Group

Orchestration: Dindial Khanick

Film Recordings: Khamrune Ali Hosein

Special Recognition: Mungal Patassar

The Music Awards ceremony was equally as exiting and exhilarating as the Hall of Fame inductions. The categories at this function were numerous to ensure that all deserving of nominations and awards were not omitted. They are as follows:

Winners of Music Awards

Best Bhajan: Man Khakee Kohl by Rakesh Yankarran

Best Qaseeda: Islamic Jems by Jameer Hosein

Best Male Artiste: Anil Bheem

Best Female Artiste: Rashika Dindial

BPTT's Best Produced CD by a Local Band: Destiny by Karma

Song of the Year: Mor Tor by Rikki Jai

Bhagwansingh's Group of Companies' Best New Recording Artiste: Imran Beharry

Best Produced CD by a Local Producer: Ring Bang by Fareed Mohammed

Best Chutney Soca Album: Ring Bang by Spread Pal Crew

Best Classical Song: Bhojay Radha Krishna and Sam Boodram

Ministry of Community Development, Culture and Gender Affairs' Album of the Year: Ultimately Yours by Anil Bheem

Best Lyricist: Rikki Jai for Mor Tor

Best Cover Version: Janam Janam by Anil Bheem

Best Engineered Song: Ring Bang by Fareed Mohammed

Best Musical Arranger: Ravi Bissembhar for Destiny

Court Trini Hit - Most Popular Song: Mor Tor by Rikki Jai

TSTT's People's Choice Award: Janam Janam by Anil Bheem

Present to distribute some of the awards were President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, the Honourable Mr. George Maxwell Richards, the Minister of Community Development, Culture and Gender Affairs, Senator the Honourable Mrs. Joan Yuille-Williams, Senator Satesh Ramroop, Minister in the Ministry of Tertiary Education, Mr. Dominic Beaubrun, Chief Executive Officer of the Caribbean News Media Group and other notable guests.

The evening proved to be as exciting as it was entertaining with guest performances by Jameer Hosein, Rooplal Girdharie, Ravi Bissembhar, Anil Bheem, Fazeer Rojan, Rikki Jai and others. Already, many of these artistes are preparing for their inductions into the Hall of Fame and cultural awards next year, 2007.

103FM's Hall of Fame and Music Awards in pictures

Homepage | Carnival Features | Special Events | Photo Gallery